Academic degree system

In the autumn of 2002 Sør-Trøndelag University College launched a new academic degree system. All Norwegian universities and colleges must do so no later than in the autumn of 2003.

Consequently, students who complete a 3-year undergraduate programme at Sør-Trøndelag University College will receive a Bachelor of Science degree. All 3-year undergraduate programmes are affected. A Bachelor of Science is an undergraduate degree, while a Master of Science is a postgraduate degree. Currently Sør-Trøndelag University College offers 1 Master of Science degree, but additional Master of Science degrees are being developed.

From the autumn of 2002 Norwegian credits (studiepoeng) at Sør-Trøndelag University College and ECTS credits will be equal - 3 ECTS credits equals 3 Norwegian credits. Ordinarily a student shall complete 60 credits per year.

Grade system
From the autumn of 2002 the number based grade system will be replaced by the letters A to F.